Chakras ka Chakkar: A guide to keep your aura in shape

Image courtesy:

Millions across the world vouch for ‘Yoga’ as a way of life but not many understand how the Asanas, Pranayam and meditation actually affect our body’s ‘Chakras’.

Chakras? That’s right.They are the ‘Energy Wheels’ located in specific parts of our body. These constantly spinning Chakras are associated to particular organs which, when worked upon, provide the organs the required energy to perform their function.

Did you know that there are total of  114 chakras in our body?! However, there are 7 main ones in our body that are in the form of a prism. Read on to study the importance of these Chakras in your life and what you should do with them:

Image source:
Image source:

1. Root or Muladhara Chakra

Located at the base of the spine, this Chakra is connected to the adrenal gland. You can visualize it as the roots of a tree which, when awakened, will provide inner strength and stability to the tree (in our case life). Tadasana, Paschimottanasana, Setubandasana and Uttanasana energize the root chakra.

2. Sacral or Svadishtana Chakra

Located just below the navel, this chakra associates itself to the kidneys, bladder and reproductive organs. It is the centre of creativity and reproduction and hence, stimulates emotions and suppressed desires. Performing Trikonasana, Ardha Matsyendrasana and Bhujangasana helps releasing the energies in this chakra.

3. Navel or Nabhi Chakra

This chakra is located above the navel and connected to the pancreas, bladder and the digestive system. Dhanurasana and Bhujangasana  are performed to release the energy which enhances personal power and self esteem.

4. Heart or Anahata Chakra

The heart is the symbol of relationships and promotes equilibrium in emotions, compassion and love. Located near the heart, it affects the thymus, heart and lower lungs. To remove blockage from this chakra, Ushtrasana and Goumukhasana are performed.

5. Throat or Vishuddhi Chakra

The throat, the source of voice, is the spring of your communication. Hence, this chakra associates itself to the thyroid gland. Flu, Shyness in speaking and dental issues can be resolved to a huge extent by performing Halasana and Sarvangasana.

6. Brow or Agyna Chakra

The brow chakra is placed in the center of forehead.  The chakra, also called The Third Eye, is the source of intuition, knowledge and is associated with the pituitary gland. When this chakra decongests, it solves muddled thinking and panic attacks. Regular practice of yogasanas like Matsyasana and Sarvangasana assist in opening up the Agnya Chakra.

Image source:
These chakras are worked to balance a person’s aura or vibrations | Image source:

7. Crown Chakra or sahasrar chakra:

The top of your head, the crown, is the genesis of spiritual enlightenment and wisdom. The highest level of consciousness and awareness, the Crown chakra shares its association with the pineal gland. This chakra uses the energies from all the lower levels to chase your aspirations and solves mental illnesses. Matsyasana and Sarvangasana prove to be very helpful in gaining this level of eternal intelligence.

All these Chakras are integral for generating optimum energy to the body and subsequently for receiving emotional and spiritual stability in life. Remember that simply knowing this and performing these asanas will not awaken your chakras.

You also need the qualities of forgiveness, empathy, change in thinking, balancing emotions, acceptance of rejection and providing a helping hand, to actually bring out the effect of your chakras in your life.

Image source:
Image source:

Realize that YOU are in control of your body. So, the next time you face body stiffness, physical issues or emotional instability, remember to identify the chakra to be awakened, and work on them, before popping that pill!

Also read:

10 ways Surya Namaskar benefits you no matter where you’re from

Lose five kilos: 15 minutes of yoga for just 15 days